Charter Date: 
Chartered on: 4 January 2010

NWU Mafikeng logo.jpg

The North-West University is a unitary, multi-campus institution with campuses spread across two provinces, with a single set of policies, systems and standards.  The three campuses i.e. Mafikeng, Potchefstroom and Vanderbijl Park function as business units with specific programmes and the institution follows a decentralised management system. The university is driven by the values contained in the Constitution, especially human dignity, equity and freedom. It promotes tolerance and respect for all perspectives and belief systems to ensure a suitable environment for education, learning, research and community service.

Golden Key Highlights
- The Mail & Guardian, 12 September 2014 reported on Dr Christo Venter, senior lecturer in Physics having spent a year as a posdoctoral fellow at the NASA Goddard Space Flight Centre in Greenbelt, Maryland.  He worked under the supervision of Dr Alice K Harding a world leader in gamma-ray pulsar modelling.  Dr Venter's research has made a substantial contribution to the field of gamma-ray astrphysics, particularly gamma-ray pulsars, pulsar wind nebulae and globular clusters.

Golden Key NWU Mafikeng Campus on Facebook